The database features over 670,000 articles from more than 230 publications, offering a wide range of unfettered, critical coverage of the news. All of these varied alternative and independent presses are presented in 100% full text, allowing researchers total access to regional, rural, and metropolitan perspectives on local, national, and international issues. Alt-Press Watch gives readers and researchers access to distinctive, thought-provoking titles, many of which cannot be found in any other database. Magazines and journals of the independent press such as Broken Pencil, which focuses on zine culture, Dissent, Solidarity’s Against the Current, The American Conservative, Left Curve, The Braille Forum and Earth First! provide in-depth coverage of a broad range of critical issues confronting contemporary society, including environment activism, disabilities, public policy, and facets of the political spectrum. And alternative newsweeklies like Eugene Weekly, Missoula Independent, and The Village Voice offer non-mainstream perspectives on government, policy, and culture; report on local, national, and international issues; and cover hot-button topics like hunger, abuse, religion, and pop culture. The Alt-Press Watch database includes these titles and many others, providing an unmatched, multi-disciplinary resource for researchers seeking an alternative to mainstream media perspectives.
Source for vocational information. The database includes over 790 titles, with more than 700 available in full text. Both students and instructors can access the database to research virtually any technical topic, including: Computing science, Healthcare, Building trades, Auto mechanics, Sales and retail, Accounting, Graphic design, and Photography.